3 Best Book Podcasts

What do you listen to when not reading? I’ve never been one to listen to music.  It’s not that I don’t like it.  I like music and I enjoy all types of music but I find that I gravitate towards words.  Where as music is something I tend to listen to when I’m with a group of people and feeling up and energetic, words are what I seek when I just want to be alone and enjoy some “me” time.

I think I’ve mentioned here before that listening to book is a futile exercise for me.  I wind up rewinding and/or deep into the book realizing that I have no idea how I got  to that point.  I get distracted and forget to listen.  There are always a million thoughts going through my head and sometimes …. ok most of the time …. they are louder than the narrator’s voice.

Having said that, I do enjoy podcasts.  They are shorter and with breaks in between the voices they tend to bring me back from my distrating thoughts much quicker which affords me the opportunity to be more present.  So, my queue on my iPhone has a few book podcasts that I tend to listen to when commuting to and from work.  Here are 3 of the ones I am enjoying lately.  Let me know if you have others I can add to my evergrowing list.

Book Riot

Unknown

Book Riot is a weekly news and talk show about what’s new, cool and worth talking about in the world of books and reading.

Reading Women

Unknown-1

The Reading Women podcast is a bi-weekly show where women discuss books by or about women.

All the books

Unknown

It’s a weekly Book Riot show of recommendations and discussions about the most interesting and exciting new book releases.  I really enjoy the back and forth between the two women on the show.  Although I have not read of the books they talk about on the show I find their discussions to be really enjoyable.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

