The Man Booker Prize List

The Man Booker Prize was announced last week and all over the internet you will find opinions, lists of lists and various thoughts about this list of “must reads.”  The short list will be coming out in September and the winner will be announced in October.

I am not even going to pretend that I can read all 13 books on the long list before the September 13th date when the short list will announced, nor am I interested in all the books.  However, I feel like I need to challenge myself in some way and made a list of 5 books and hoping that the one I enjoy best will be winner this year.  Last year I did not like the winner, although may other bloggers can’t say enough good things about it.

So for my list of Man Booker Prize Selection:

Exit West by Mohsin Hamid

IMG_0567

Autumn by Ali Smith

IMG_0568

Solar Bones by Mike McCoramack

IMG_0569

4321 by Paul Auster

IMG_0571

 

Lincoln and the Bardo by George Saunders

IMG_0572

 

I am currently reading Exit West by Mohsin Hamid and so far I am enjoying it.  I’m about 38% into the book and although it’s a prose that to me sounds and feels more like poetry…. It’s a different type of prose than what I’m used to but I am enjoying it very much.  I do not want to read or watch any reviews as I don’t want to be influenced by any of them but I will give you my thoughts once I’m done with the book.

What caught my attention here was three aspects of the story, there is a romance, a raw type of romantic story between Saheed and Nadia, there is the war aspect and how a town taken over by war is surviving or not and then there is the fantasy aspect which is what I was most interested in….. the doors that exit west are just now coming to the surface and I have not been able to stop reading except for the sleep last night.  Going back tot he book after the post….. I’m glad it’s Sunday.

Since I don’t have any of these books right now I’m reading this one on my iPad and right now I’m trying to figure out if I want to continue reading them on the iPad or if I should order the books (that’s a post for another day).

Hope you enjoy the rest of the weekend and I’ll see on my next post.

Ana

One thought on “The Man Booker Prize List”

Leave a Reply

